Jersey Financial Services Commission Logo


Global Fintech Innovation Network

Global Financial Innovation Network (GFIN)

The Global Financial Innovation Network (GFIN) was formally launched in January 2019 by an international group of financial regulators and related organisations, including the Jersey Financial Services Commission (JFSC). The GFIN is a network of 29 organisations committed to supporting financial innovation in the interests of consumers. (See JFSC press release)

The GFIN seeks to provide a more efficient way for innovative firms to interact with regulators, helping them navigate between countries as they look to scale new ideas. This includes a pilot for firms wishing to test innovative products, services or business models across more than one jurisdiction.

It also aims to create a new framework for co-operation between financial services regulators on innovation related topics, sharing different experiences and approaches.

Confirming the GFIN’s functions

The GFIN was proposed in a consultation paper in August 2018 (which is available on the Financial Conduct Authority’s website here) by the 12 founding members of GFIN. The consultation paper received 99 responses from 26 jurisdictions. The response from industry and other international regulators was overwhelmingly positive in favour of establishing the GFIN to facilitate a new practical method of regulatory collaboration on innovation and creating an environment for cross-border testing.

Following this consultation, the GFIN has finalised terms of reference for governance and membership of the group which is available here and confirmed 3 primary functions:

Since the end of the consultation, the GFIN has discussed further development of its core functions and next steps of the network. Alongside discussions on the sharing of experience, regulators involved agreed to launch a pilot phase of cross-border testing (for firms) and to formalise the membership and governance structure for regulators and international organisations interested in joining the Network.

Following the consultation feedback, the GFIN has:

Cross-border testing applications – pilot phase for firms

Consultation feedback indicated widespread support for creating an environment that allowed firms to simultaneously trial and scale new technologies in multiple jurisdictions, gaining real-time insight into how a product or service might operate in the market.

To support the development of cross border testing we have opened a 1 month application window for firms interested in joining a pilot cohort for cross-border testing.

Firms wishing to participate in this pilot phase must meet the application requirements of all the jurisdictions in which they would like to test. For example, a firm wishing to test in the UK, Australia and Hong Kong must independently meet the eligibility criteria, and/or other relevant standards, of the regulators in those jurisdictions.

Interested firms should note whether a particular regulator is the relevant authority for the proposed activity before applying to test in their jurisdiction.

Each regulator will decide whether a proposed test meets its individual screening criteria, areas of interest, and ability to support the activity. Each regulator will also make sure that appropriate safeguards for their jurisdiction are in place. Regulators are only responsible for tests in their jurisdictions and should consider the associated risks. We believe this is important to maintain high standards of consumer protection and market integrity in regulators’ respective jurisdictions.

Pilot tests will run for a 6-month period, unless regulators agree to extend them. We expect the pilots will run from Q2 2019.

This pilot is as much a trial for GFIN members as it will be for firms. We are looking for firms who can be flexible and agile in their participation, and can provide GFIN regulators with feedback on their experience. Firms will benefit from the opportunity to test and compete in the regulated space, and their tests will help inform the future work of the network. Over time, trials could inform regulatory authorities about potential areas of regulatory convergence, although we stress this is a longer-term opportunity.

Firms interested in applying to GFIN cross-border testing should review the list of regulators currently able to support the pilot test (see list below) and submit an application to each jurisdiction in which they would like to test before the 28 February 2019 deadline.


GFIN Members currently participating in cross-border trials

GFIN Members currently participating in cross-border trials

 Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC)
 Central Bank of Bahrain (CBB)  
 Bermuda Monetary Authority (BMA)  
 British Columbia Securities Commission (BCSC) (British Columbia, Canada)  
 Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) (Ontario, Canada)  
 Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) (Québec, Canada)  
 Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA)  
 Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission (HKSFC)  
 Magyar Nemzeti Bank (Central Bank of Hungary)  
 Astana Financial Services Authority (AFSA) (Astana, Kazakhstan)  
Bank of Lithuania (LB)
Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS)
Abu Dhabi Global Market (ADGM)
Dubai Financial Services Authority (DFSA)
Financial Conduct Authority (FCA, UK)
Guernsey Financial Services Commission (GFSC)
Jersey Financial Services Commission (JFSC)

Joining the GFIN – for regulators

We see the GFIN as an open initiative and continue to welcome interest from regulators and international organisations in joining the network in its early stages.

Finalising our terms of reference for on-boarding new members allows us to formally expand the group in a transparent way. We invite interested regulators and international organisations to review our tiers of membership and consider the potential benefits and commitment levels that come with joining the network.

While launching cross-border testing has been an early priority for the group, regulatory members are able to just focus on the network and joint RegTech work, rather than supporting trials.

For more information, organisations can contact any GFIN member or email the FCA at


Full list of GFIN Membership


Co-ordination Group
 Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) Australia 
 Central Bank of Bahrain (CBB) Bahrain
 Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) Québec, Canada
 Guernsey Financial Services Commission (GFSC) Guernsey
 Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) Hong Kong
 Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission (HKSFC) Hong Kong
 Astana Financial Services Authority (AFSA) Kazakhstan
 Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) Singapore
 Dubai Financial Services Authority (DFSA) UAE
 Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) United Kingdom
Consumer Financial protection Bureau (CFPB) (USA) USA


 Bermuda Monetary Authority (BMA) Bermuda
 Alberta Securities Commission (ASC) Alberta, Canada
 British Columbia Securities Commission (BCSC) British Columbia, Canada
 Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) Ontario, Canada
 Centrale Bank van Curaçao and Sint Maarten Curaçao and Sint Maarten
 Central Bank of Eswatini Eswatini (Swaziland)
 Magyar Nemzeti Bank (Central Bank of Hungary) Hungary
 Isle of Man Financial Services Authority (IOMFSA) Isle of Man
 Israel Securities Authority (ISA) Israel
Jersey Financial Services Commission (JFSC) Jersey
Capital Markets Authority (CMA, Kenya) Kenya
Bank of Lithuania (BL) Lithuania
South African Reserve Bank (SARB) South Africa
 Abu Dhabi Global Market (ADGM) UAE



 Qianhai Financial Authority


 Consultative Group to Assist the Poor (CGAP)


 International Monetary Fund (IMF)


 World Bank Group