Jersey Financial Services Commission Logo



The Jersey Financial Services Commission (the “Commission”) is pleased to announce that 25 AIFMD bilateral cooperation agreements have, to date, been signed with EU/EEA Member State supervisory authorities.

The Commission has been liaising with the European Securities and Markets Authority, the party responsible, to date, for negotiating the AIFMD cooperation agreement on behalf of all 28 EU Member State supervisory authorities as well as the authorities from Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, since February 2012.

The AIFMD bilateral cooperation agreements form a significant part of the requirements pursuant to the Alternative Investment Fund Managers Directive to enable Jersey alternative investment fund managers to continue to market into Europe under national private placement rules until at least 2018.

Direct negotiations continue with EU/EEA Member States with a view to agreeing the last few remaining AIFMD bilateral cooperation agreements. In particular, the Commission is in active dialogue with the supervisory authorities of Germany and Spain to conclude and sign the respective AIFMD bilateral cooperation agreements.

The 25 AIFMD bilateral cooperation agreements signed, to date, are between the Commission and the supervisory authorities of the following EU/EEA Member States:

Belgium Hungary Netherlands
Bulgaria Iceland Norway
Cyprus Ireland Poland
Czech Republic Latvia Portugal
Denmark Liechtenstein Romania
Estonia Lithuania Slovakia
Finland Luxembourg Sweden
France Malta United Kingdom

The Commission will issue further press releases on cooperation agreements as and when appropriate.

- Ends -

For further information please contact: -

David Porter - Lead Adviser, AIFMD
Jersey Financial Services Commission
Tel: + 44 (0) 1534 822018

<< Back to contents

< Back to contents